Current Committee

EMBASSY is currently run by a voluntary, rolling committee who share responsibility for all aspects of running the gallery and aim to work non-hierarchically. At present,
there are six of us:


Maria Wrang-Rasmussen (she/her) is a Danish interdisciplinary artist based in Edinburgh. Examining themes of intimacy, queer identity, and time, Maria’s work explores non-linear narratives and compositions through storytelling, drawing, animation, and coding. Maria joined the EMBASSY Committee in June 2021, looking forward to creating positive spaces and connections for emerging artists.

Georgia Holman (she/her) is an artist and writer, she cares about poetics, a politics of care and the intimacy of access needs being met. Using poetics as a medium to project the imagining and making of an inverted world, her work questions how we can build empathic structures as a resistance to the neoliberal pervasion of individualism.  Georgia joined the EMBASSY committee in June 2021, excited by the prospect of co-constructed knowledge development and artistic exchange that has the power to be vitalising as opposed to exhaustive.

Katherine Allan (she/her) is a multimedia artist and botany enthusiast based in Edinburgh. She predominantly works in sculpture, installation and performance. Her practice explores embodiment, ecology and therapeutic art practices. Katherine joined the committee in January 2021 with the aim to sustain artist networks and to help make art spaces more accessible to the community.

Frieda Ford (she/her) is an artist and art support worker living in Edinburgh. She works in film and performance. She joined the EMBASSY committee in August 2020 looking to be a part of and to sustain the strong artist network that gravitates around EMBASSY. She likes queer theory, shiny things, and adventurous installs.

Jen Martin is an artist and writer based in Glasgow, working collaboratively through film and sound work. She has extensive experience in filmmaking as an editor and colourist, film and sound tuition. Jen studies on the M(LITT) Art Writing at the GSA.

Abigail Webster (she/her) coordinates projects, and writes around cultural labour and infrastructures. She joined EMBASSY in June 2018.


We intermittently recruit for new committee members to take responsibility for curatorial projects and all other aspects of running the gallery. Generally we advertise for this online, though if you are interested please get in touch, as we would be happy to have a chat about the role.

As we outlined in our About section, we are hoping to implement governance changes in the coming months. If you would like to be on our Advisory Panel, or would be interested in investing your skill sets as a Board Member in future, please get in touch via email.

Interested in joining the committee?
Get in touch

Previous Committee Members

EMBASSY Gallery was founded by Kim Coleman, Craig Coulthard, Tommy Grace, Jenny Hogarth, Dave Maclean, Kate Owens and Catherine Stafford.

Since 2007 the EMBASSY committee has comprised of: Katherine Fay Allan, Matthew Bainbridge, Debjani Banerjee, Angela Beck, Katie Bootland, Dan Brown, Christian Noelle Charles, Polina Chizhova, Ed Compson, Luke Cooke-Yarborough, Joe Etchell, Benjamin Fallon, John Farrugia, Martine Foltier-Pugh, Frieda Ford, Oisín Gallagher, Quinn Garrison, Katie Hallam, Alexa Hare, John A. Harrington, Shona Handley, Joe Harvey, Kirsty Hendry, Oliver Herbert, Norman James Hogg, Connie Hurley, Deborah Jackson, Gemma Jones, Suzanne van der Lingen, Louisa Love, Tessa Lynch, Ciara McDermott, Shona Macnaughton, Laurie Macpherson, Jen Martin, Phoebe Miller, Astrid Newman, Francesca Nobilucci, Katie Orton, James Thomas Philips, Jordan Pilling, Ashleigh Reid, Jenny Richards, Michael Di Rienzo, Fintan Ryan, Sally Sears-Black, Rachael Simpson, Amber Stevenson, Dane Sutherland, Daniella Watson, Jake Watts, Abigail Webster, and Joanna Baxter Wilson.

Since 2018, the EMBASSY committee has been joined by Joanna Hooper, Siobhan McLaughlin, and Jody Mulvey, as Project Assistants as part of their studies, from Edinburgh College of Art.

The EMBASSY committee has also been supported by a range of wonderful artists and other individuals, who we are very grateful to.